May 5, 2010

  • In Memorium - My Mother The Architect

    While writing elsewhere on Crystal Bowersox, I found that a part of her original work sends me looking for songs and poems about abusive mothers - not a particularly hot topic in the world of songwriters, but a powerful one.  Bowersox, on American Idol, has at least four original songs dealing with abuse, three directed towards "mother" with no way to know just how autobiographical they are until she is ready to speak about them.

    What I do know is that they are powerful, exquisitely written, played and sung, and treat a theme almost never dealt with in song. "Farmer's Daughter" is the best known of the three. "Mama" and "Flowers for Mother" are the other two.

    It is testimony to the strength of her writing that I cannot listen to these songs without bring drawn in, without relating them to my own life.  These songs and other things, including urging by a number of people, friends and strangers, to write down my story, have me thinking about my life, its modest successes and huge failures, the lives of my children...  Then someone reminded me of a poem I wrote several years ago, autobiographical, totally....

    I will be recording most of my poems next month, at the behest of and with the help of a composer/singer friend who heard me reading one while i was in the hospital and said she found herself moved by the voice, and the words and the music in the rhythms I set up.  She too suffered at the hands of her mother and wants to do this one first in the studio...

    In Memorium: Mother as Architect

    "The most powerful weapon in the hands of the oppressor
    is the mind of the oppressed." *

    You knew.
    You knew that
    If you took my mind,
    When I was very young,
    Still suckling,
    Twisting it
    Till I was
    The old grey wrung out dishrag
    That rested on your sink,
    Bereft of beauty.
    Breaking desires
    Fragile as stems
    Of grandmother's crystal,
    Thrown against the wall,
    Until I had none.
    Wearing outdoor boots
    To crush that place
    We cannot locate
    Where living and synapses
    Collide, creating
    Who I am, or am not,
    Who I can ever,
    Who I can never be...

    You knew you could shape
    The groundwork.

    Craft it crooked to the east
    So that I would understand
    East winds will not bring peace,
    But pierce me
    In their storms.
    Break it off on the west side,
    So I'd fall
    When I walked there,
    And while falling,
    Drop and break
    What I tried to hold
    In safety,
    Like my children
    Or my heart.

    Slant it down towards north,
    So I could slide more freely
    Into hell,
    Knowing there was no other
    Safe and clear direction.
    South?
    I could never find the south
    With its sun and flowering trees
    I'd  heard about.
    I had no compass.
    Oh, you did it well.

    Still, I try to redesign,
    Remake, refine,
    The foundation
    Every day.
    With the sharp edges
    Of my heart,
    I try to excavate,
    Make flat
    Make smooth,
    Make safe
    An unvarnished little place
    Where I can live
    Till morning.

    pearlbamboo

    *Steven Biko

    © 2005

Comments (3)

  • I'm glad there's someone in the spotlight talking about abusive mothers and their daughters.  It's almost a cliche (unfortunately) of a narrative when fathers abuse sons in films, literature, even music.  The abusive relationship between mothers and daughters has not really been aloud it's voice to be recognized. 

    A strong poem.   

  • I love the poem! WOW. Very powerful. Hey you.... how have you been? Come say hi, let me know how you are! I miss you! Hope all is well with you! ::hugs:: Barbi

  • Lily! It was so great to talk to you again tonight! Yes, you should write your stories. I think it is important that other people understand the hazards involved in the subject we were speaking of tonight. I wish you so much bright blessings Lily. Call me anytime. You are special and you are loved. Never forget that.

    And anyone reading this stuff, this is one amazing woman. The jewelry she makes is unbelievable and gorgeous if you like beaded and vintage, see Lily!!!!!

    ::Hugs:: Stay well this time,
    ~*~ Barbi

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *