September 22, 2008

  • Art Goes On - onNew Photography Efforts -

    Most of the jewelry pieces I make at the moment are one off, and not inexpensive to craft.   Finding all the somewhat magical components that work together isn't easy or cheap. At this stage in my life, I've not the financial cushion to go produce fifty or one hundred high quality pieces, so opening a shop on etsy with sufficient depth has so far eluded me.  However, I've decided to add high-quality vintage clothing, of which I have about thirty linear feet of stashed in my  apartment in closets, to the mix to fill things out for now. 

    A perusal of etsy suggests that interesting photography is valued there.  It had so far eluded me until day before yesterday, when I forced myself to go through the vintage with an eye to what I could use as a background and came up with what follows.

    I  would  love feedback - do these  please you?  draw you in?  do they tempt you more than the ones using my manikin that I've posted earlier.  (mani's are mostly absent on etsy....)

    thank you,

    pearlbamboo

        


Comments (5)

  • etsy is a great place!  I am not the best critic of what you are making as i don't wear much jewelry - I like the pair on the right better because of the delicate feel to the rose.  The pair on the left I can't see clearly enough.  while I like the creativity of the background behind them, I was more drawn to the painted bird so you might want to rethink that, it also distracts from really seeing the design of the metal or whatever the material is for the pair on the left.

    jewelry is difficult in a photo, so hopefully you are adding descriptive comments

    good luck ~

  • ps i just checked your photos and the one that depicts the white cone flower pair against a white background is so much clearer that i really had a better sense of the design and material you made the earrings from, and I liked them much better.

  • rd, i think you are right about the pic with the bird, though positioning the earrings differently might help that, as might different lighting.

    my own preference has always been for a very simple background and straight-on pics. many etsy jewelery sellers shoot at angles that don't show me what i need to see, tho they are interesting photos, and on patterned backgrounds that, to me, often detract from the item. i edit all my pics, so following a pattern of different angles, only one of which will show the earrings, eg, as they will be worn - not on the side - not from the bottom up unless there is something interesting there, etc - represents editing time i could have spent creating something new.

    is it that i am older and less visually sophisticated thatn 20 or 30 somethings?

  • I think the mannequins are helpful for gauging size, but I do like these pictures better otherwise. :)

    P.S.: Are you selling the red coneflower earrings? If so, how much? I'm very highly interested!! I would appreciate an email if they are available. :) Beautiful work!

  • @Carly - 

    @Carly - 

    lass="replyto x--1452548795--x">@Carly - 

    @Carly - 

    hi carly. yes, they are for sale. email me through xanga, or IM through yahoo - sublimelydogged20004 - to work out the details.

    i love that pair myself, a lot.

    regards, lily

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment